Friday/Saturday Rules – We all start together
DO NOT START UNTIL EVERYONE, INCLUDING TOURNAMENT DIRECTOR IS SEATED
Successful loners, or penalty during loner attempt 4 POINTS AND/OR
Singles game (5 for person making the loner) 5 POINTS
ALL Euchres (even on loner), team makes all 5 tricks or penalty 2 POINTS
Team declaring trump takes 3-4 tricks 1 POINT
The “What If” Game
Q What if the I wish my partner “good luck” on a loner attempt? Can a “table talk” penalty be called?
A No. While we understand the objection, we want people to have a good time. Without thought, we tend to wish our partners good when the go alone. We encourage good sportsmanship and most importantly, we want people to enjoy themselves while they play.
Q What if I have bad cards and I want to quit, throw my cards and/or complain constantly about how bad my cards have been?
A While we all appreciate and understand “having a bad card day”, it is important to remember that your partner may be having a “I’d rather be lucky than good” day. In other words, we should always play our very best game and exercise good sportsmanship.
Q What if the opposing team insists that I have violated a rule and I, although reluctantly, agree with them and take the penalty, only to find out that “I was right” all along?
A Unfortunately, we cannot make after the fact rulings. If there is a dispute, call over a tournament director for a decision. We do our very best to make a fair call and hope it will be respected.
Q What if I am a stickler for the rules and like to call penalty for every single infraction can find. Is that a problem?
A Yes. We are asking you to use common sense when calling a penalty. We believe at our tournaments that the Euchre players know how to play Euchre. We also believe the player that violated a rules, needs to own up to their mistake. We also believe; however, that discretion can be used, and most issues can be resolved without the tournament director. We believe that tournaments are won based on your ability to play and some luck. So, does this mean we cannot call a penalty? Absolutely not. If you reach an impasse, call a tournament director over for assistance. These are instances we would rather not be called over for:
“they did turn the trump cube”, we get two points. False.
“they said get in the truck, instead of I’m going alone”, we get 4 points. False.
“They knocked twice. Someone told me that did at your last tournament. We get 2 points. No.
“They knocked twice on this call and the last call. We are calling it. Yes, you would get 2 points.
“He asked what was turned over and then picked up the card to look at it”. Tough call. You can ask what trump is but refrain from touching the cards unless you are the dealer and then only as necessary. Use the provided trump cube.
She grabbed the tick when it was mine? No penalty. Push the cards to the winner of the trick.
Use common sense, exercise good sportsmanship, follow the rules and call tournament director when necessary.
We want EVERYONE to have a good time and to enjoy a competitive game.